What are Chakras in the human body and how the effects

Vociferous Writers
4 min readJun 25, 2021


If you have gone through Yoga or Meditation then you might come across the word ‘Chakras’ or if you have seen the below figure then you might have wondered that what are these seven spots on the human body. So let’s understand the basics, position (location), and effects of the chakras.

Chakras are defined as the energy centers of the body. They are located in the astral body along the spline, starting from the base of the spline and goes upwards up to the crown of the head. They coincide with glands in the body and radiates specific color and energy. Every chakra relates to the specific spiritual, emotional, psychological, and physical aspects of a human being. It is said that the malfunction or blockage of the chakras can lead to psychological, physical, or emotional disorders. It is believed that the conscious awareness and balancing of these energy centers can lead to good health and physical and mental stability. The brief information about the seven chakras is given below.

1) Root Chakra (Muladhara Chakra)

Location: At the base of the spine between the anus and the genitals

Colour: Red (represents the element earth)

This chakra is characterized by the emotions of survival, stability, ambition, and self-sufficiency. When this chakra is imbalanced then a person might feel unstable, ungrounded, lack of ambition, lack of purpose, and frustrated. By practicing the Tree pose (Vrkshasana) and Mountain pose (Tadasana) Root chakra can be balanced.

2) Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana Chakra)

Location: At the lower abdomen, about four fingers below the navel

Colour: Orange (represents the element water)

This chakra stands for the basics needs for sexuality, desires, creativity, and self-worth. When this chakra is imbalanced then a person might feel emotionally explosive and irritable, lacking of energy and creativity, manipulative, or obsessed with sexual thoughts. By practicing the Crow pose (Kakasana) or Triangle pose (Trikonasana) Sacral chakra can be balanced.

3) Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura Chakra)

Location: Between the navel and the bottom of the rib cage

Colour: Yellow (represents fire)

This chakra is characterized by energy and emotions like ego, anger, and aggression. An imbalance of this chakra can leads to digestive problems, liver problems, or diabetes. On an emotional level, one might struggle with depression, lack of self-esteem, anger, and perfectionism. By practicing the Forward bend (Paschimottanasana), Cobra pose (Bhujangasana) and Bow pose (Dhanurasana) Solar Plexus chakra can be balanced.

4) Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra)

Location: At the center of the chest just above the heart

Colour: Green (represents element air)

This chakra is characterized by emotions of love, attachment, compassion, trust, and passion. When this chakra is imbalanced a person might deal with emotional issues like anger, lack of trust, anxiety, fear, and moodiness. By practicing the Half Bridge Pose (Ardha Setubandhasana), and Fish Pose (Matsyasana) Heart chakra can be balanced.

5) Throat Chakra (Vishuddha Chakra)

Location: At the base of the throat (coincides with the thyroid gland)

Colour: Bright Blue (represents element space)

This Chakra represents inspiration, expression, faith, and the ability to communicate. Imbalance of this chakra can leads to timidity, quietness, a feeling of weakness, or inability to express your thoughts. . By practicing the Shoulderstand (Sarvangasana) and Plough Pose (Halasana) Throat chakra can be balanced

6) Third eye chakra (Ajna or Agya Chakra)

Location: Between the eyebrows

Colour: Indigo blue

This Chakra represents intelligence, intuition, understanding, insight, and self-knowledge. When this chakra is imbalanced then a person might feel non-assertive, afraid of success, or on the contrary, be egoistical. The imbalance of Ajna Chakra can manifest itself on a physical level by headaches, blurry vision, and eye strain. By practicing the meditation and the Headstand pose (Shirshasana) Third eye chakra can be balanced.

Third Eye Chakra is often used as a focal point during asana practice to bring more concentration and awareness. It is said that meditation on Ajna Chakra destroys the karma of past lives and gives liberation and intuitional knowledge.

7) Crown chakra (Sahastrara Chakra)

Location: At the crown of the head

Colour: Violet or White

This Chakra is the center of spirituality, enlightenment, dynamic thought, and energy. It allows for the inward flow of wisdom and brings the gift of cosmic consciousness. When this chakra is imbalanced a person might suffer from a constant sense of frustration, no spark of joy, and destructive feelings. By practicing the Headstand pose (Shirshasana) Crown chakra can be balanced.

Written by: Ruchit Shah(Instagram: @rjshah_02)

Vociferous Writers (Instagram: @vociferouswriters)